Run Fat Boy Run

There was a time when I used to box, train and run, nothing phenomenal, running was something that never fascinated me. But being an avid footballer and cricketer meant somehow or the other I ended up running a fair distance quite regularly.

Over the years as other incidents and accidents happened and priorities changed; the sole purpose of life has changed. The everyday rush to reach college followed by office on time meant that physical exercise took a back-seat, especially after life in the corporate zone happened.

My exercise is cycling roughly 3 kms a day (to and fro/total) from home to railway station and back and walking for about 1.5 kilometres (to and fro) another station in the city to office and back.

At time like these when I look at various news-items on sports events, I wonder what would have happened if some things had not happened in a very, very bitter past. I could have been an accomplished boxer or excelled at least one sport and represented my state if not the district. Some memories just do not fade away. The adrenaline rush when you pad up to face the 6.5 feet pace bowler from the other college team. The joy of a header that tricks the goal-keeper and fetchesย celebratory back-thumps and hugs from team-members. The sheer training that one imposed on one-self to become a powerful boxer. The endless time spent shadow-boxing and perfecting the one-inch punch.

I look back at myself and wonder, if I could create a wormhole/black-hole/flux some fancy term to go back in time!!!

OK what prompted this post???

Well our attendance register closes sharp at 9:55 AM at the reception counter. So today I ran and walked fast, ran and walked fast, akin to an old double-decker bus navigating through narrow by-lanes – to cover about a kilometre in around 8 or 9 mins, wading through the mush and slush of the overnight rains.

The joy of beating the clock brought back a whole bunch of memories.

As I sit back, relaxing for a while, wondering how life has brought me here, I can only be grateful for the small acts of mercy and kindness that the Lord has showered on me.

So back to work ๐Ÿ™‚ time for the fat boy to run, run to catch the train back home ๐Ÿ™‚

10 thoughts on “Run Fat Boy Run

  1. Good to know that you had a lot of interest in sports, and even considered playing professionally. Back then, it was studies that killed everything else for me. If not anything else, I wish I could have read more non-fiction and fiction books, than I did. But feeling good to catch up now, anyway.

    Destination Infinity

  2. That was a nice post. Brought back some memories of my own as well. I used to get up at 5 to go to the gym and work out for an hour.. Now if I wake up early it would be to get some time for myself to get some coffee ๐Ÿ™‚ Weird how we give up on somethings we love, right?

    1. Very true Padhma – the things that we have to let go..
      A lot – some for the better and some for the worse!
      Your last short story was brilliant ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Nice post Mahesh ji..really liked it. There are so many subtle things in our life, which we tend to forget/give up. The joy we get, when somehow we do it again is priceless ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

