What Do I Name This Idle Verse???

The darkness in my soul,
Seeks an outlet,
I have to be honest,
I never was ambitious,
My greatest flaw,
Has been to dabble,
In too many things,
And never master anything!

I write free-form,
Pretending this to be verse,
I dream of shooting movies,
I can’t even sketch a scene,
I dream of wooing someone special,
And I can’t even find courage,
To speak or express my thoughts,

I dream of making money,
By noble and honest means,
All I get to do,
Is wait for the next pay-check,
Balancing the EMIs.

I dream of being true to my dreams,
And what do I do?
I just put on a mask,
Smile like an idiot,
Join the crowd of individuals,
Who trudge away to glory,
Having sold our souls,
To the rigours of a safe job.

It is not too late, yet!
Like the sudden shower,
That kisses the gentle earth,
The child who waits,
For his mother to cuddle him,
The lonesome poet,
Who waits for his beloved’s – ‘Yes’.
There is still hope!

Don’t end up like me,
For life is running short,
Chase your dreams young men and women,
Throw caution to the winds,
Travel the country,
Dance and sing as if there was no tomorrow.
Remove that mask and be true!

True to yourself and your dreams!

8 thoughts on “What Do I Name This Idle Verse???

  1. I so get what you are saying. Big dreams and motivated , but lazy and sometimes filled with crippling self doubt. Strive on ! Push through!

  2. Quite profound, you have spoken for the entire generation. After this painful self-reflection, shall come the action which will transform the scene. I am sure you shall soar with the wings of your dreams, and – verses will flow freely, reels will roll of avant-garde films, emi will be a thing of past, there shall be creativity everywhere, and life will be a romantic felicity. Best wishes.

Leave a Reply

